·afterdawn.com home  ·Search  

This discussion forum has been closed.
Starting new topics or replying to existing topics is no longer possible.
We welcome all users to use AfterDawn's discussion forums instead.
 

 

sony dru510a

Get AnyDVD HD and copy any DVD or Blu-ray disc with ease!
Posted Message
penycae 
Inactive

20 Sep 2003 2:44 AM
movie transfers in step 1 o.k. then asks to insert blank dvd disk.On doing so nothing happens unable to continue step 2 as start buttom is not active.Tried with 2 different brands of disks.would appreciate help.
Conrad 
Inactive

22 Sep 2003 9:00 AM
penycae,
Could you tell us a little bit about your system.
1. Your O/S and is it updated to the latest Service Pack?

2. What firmware version do you have for the Sony? Is the one that it was installed with when you purchased it?

3. Any other burning software installed on your system?

4. Are you using Express alone or are you using Platinum and what version is it?

5. Anything else you can think of that would help us.


Thanks,
Conrad


Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
penycae 
Inactive

23 Sep 2003 12:45 AM
o/s xp pro.
firmware inatalled with unit One week old.
Nero6 + incd and stomp record now max.
Xpress 3.0.2.
penycae 
Inactive

23 Sep 2003 12:47 AM
Service pack 1
Conrad 
Inactive

23 Sep 2003 11:13 AM
penycae,
Uninstall Express and reboot.

Uninstall Nero 6 and it's related software, including InCD. Reboot

Uninstall Stomps RecordNow Max and it's related software.. DLA. Reboot.

Install Express, rebboting when prompted and try it again.

If it works, then one of those above programs (or part of) is conflicting.




Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
penycae 
Inactive

25 Sep 2003 5:35 AM
will try. thanks
Hugsy 
Newbie

15 Oct 2003 8:18 AM
O.K. Upgrades are suppose to go smoothly and fix problems. I am very frustrated at this point. I have been using the 3.0. version of DVD xpress for 6 months or so with no problems at all. I clicked on the UPDATE tab in DVDxpress and downloaded Version 3.0.5. It is a full install so I uninstalled my old version of DVD xpress and ran the new install. I felt this should not make a difference since I was told this must be done in the past by you guys.
So now I have the newest version loaded. Same exact system as before nothing different. I GET THE SAME PROBLEM! Why is it that everytime I load something new from you guys it leads to this? I had the same issue with DVD X Copy and Express. A simple upgrade ends up being HOURS of uninstalling and re-installing to upgrade something that already works. Please explain what I must do now. I have Roxio on my system and it's always been there. Do I uninstall DVDXpress, then uninstall Roxio, then install DVDXpress and then install Roxio again? What is the order to do this to get this running. Sorry for being so frustrated, but everytime I take a chance and upgrade with you all I say "Maybe it will go smoothly" and then it happens again
Conrad 
Inactive

15 Oct 2003 9:23 AM
Hugsy,

I personally have stayed with Express version 3.0.0, because the updates fixed problems I didn't have.
3.0.5 was supposed to fix a problem playing the disk back in some players.

I don't know what you've tried so far, but try uninstalling Express 3.0.5 and reinstall 3.0.

If you still have problems then uninstall Roxio and do an over-install of Express 3.0.

If that doesn't work post back here.




Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
Hugsy 
Newbie

15 Oct 2003 10:35 AM
Thanks! I should know to leave better off alone. The problem I've been having with the previous version is this. On some of the DVDs I've burned there are pixels at the 20 minute mark of each one with a problem. It's really wierd. Most of the Burns work fine. I did notice that it only seems to happen on the Phillips DVD media. I think I'll try again with the Imation or Memorex blank DVDs. This was the only reason I tried to upgrade to Version 3.0.5 in the first place.
Conrad 
Inactive

15 Oct 2003 10:48 AM
Hugsy,

Ya, that sounds like a media problem. I use Verbatim and Memorex and have had good luck with them.

Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
Hugsy 
Newbie

15 Oct 2003 11:56 AM
O.K. I'll go back to 3.0.0. I'll try uninstalling 3.0.5 and reinstall 3.0.0. Do you think I'll have to uninstall and reinstall Roxio? I'll try the first part first and see what happens before touching Roxio.
Conrad 
Inactive

15 Oct 2003 1:04 PM
Hugsy,

That's my suggestion.
Just leave Roxio alone for the time being and uninstall 3.0.5/reinstall 3.0.0.


Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
Hugsy 
Newbie

15 Oct 2003 9:31 PM
Conrad,

I uninstalled Version 3.0.5 and installed version 3.0.2 and it works fine. I have one question, is the compression in v3.0.2 the same as v2.5.2? Meaning, were there any changes on the compression side of the program between the two.
Thanks again for all your help. I am currently burning an entire disk copy, I will let you know how the quality comes out.

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 15 Oct 2003 9:33 PM

Conrad 
Inactive

16 Oct 2003 9:12 AM
Hugsy,

Express version 2.5.2 has, IMHO, the best compression routine. It will use, if needed, almost the entire disk. But, it's the movie only.

I believe what happened in Express version 3.0.0 (which was the first version with the Entire Disk option) was it didn't compress the movie enough to get in the 'Extras' and caused problems for some users.

They then came out with version 3.0.x which compressed the movie even more to allow for the 'Extras'.

So, I believe 3.0.0 is the best version so far for the Entire Disk option (if you don't have problems) and version 2.5.2 is the best version for the movie only.






Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
Hugsy 
Newbie

16 Oct 2003 9:32 AM
I really only like to use the Movie Only feature, so you are saying that the compression is higher in 3.0.2 for the movie only feature than it is in 2.5.2? So the quality of the movie backup would be better in 2.5.2? But If there isn't a difference with the Movie only part between the two versions, then i'll just keep 3.0.2 loaded.
By the way, the Entire disc backup I did last night wasn't that great, faces showed pixelation.

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 16 Oct 2003 9:35 AM

Conrad 
Inactive

16 Oct 2003 10:45 AM
Hugsy,

2.5.2 is the best if you want just the movie only.

You could verify for yourself the differences between 2.5.2 and the movie only in 3.0.0 using the same original.

Just compare the size of the VIDEO_TS folder in a 2.5.2 backup to a movie only VIDEO_TS folder in 3.0.0.

If they're the same size then stick with 3.0.0 as that version gives you the option of Entire Disk if you want it.


Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
Hugsy 
Newbie

16 Oct 2003 11:21 AM
Do you think I'l have any problems going from 3.0.2 back to 2.5.2? I guess it's just something I have to test and see. Bite the bullet so to say.
Conrad 
Inactive

16 Oct 2003 11:37 AM
Hugsy,

You shouldn't have any problems at all.

Just uninstall whatever version you have installed, reboot, install whatever version of Express you want and reboot when prompted.

The versions are in folder 5992 at: ftp://products.321studios.com/
if you need them.


Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
Hugsy 
Newbie

16 Oct 2003 1:25 PM
Thanks! You have done a fantastic job as usual. I will keep you posted.
Conrad 
Inactive

16 Oct 2003 1:52 PM
Hugsy,

You're welcome!



Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
Hugsy 
Newbie

24 Oct 2003 12:47 AM
Conrad,

What is your opinion of DVDxCopy express version 3.2.0? Didn't that just come out like a few days ago? What are the main changes with this newest release? I'm currently doing very well with Version 3.0.2 I worked with you last week with.

Let me know anything you can advise on the new release.
Hugsy
toolman18 
Senior Member

24 Oct 2003 8:26 AM
Hugsy,
If this version is working for you then just leave as is.Last update was for fix with certain problems people were having.When updates are released there is note as to what the fixes were for.Again if no problems leave as is!

Rag-Tag 12
Hugsy 
Newbie

24 Oct 2003 8:52 AM
Thanks!!

I'll stay with what I have.
Hugsy 
Newbie

1 Dec 2003 12:00 AM
Conrad,

Having a problem with Pixelation and skipping during some of the DVDs on my Harmon Kardon. It seems to happen on every third or forth dvd burn. I burned all the indiana jones (which worked fine)and just did X-men 2 and had skipping and pixels halfway through the movie, eventually lost the sound and just stopped. My cheap Magnavox plays it fine but I really want to use my Harmon Kardon for the DTS.
Do you think that 3.2.1 will fix this issue?
I'm currently using version 3.0.2 which is supposed to be compressing more than it should. Let me know, you've always come through for me in the past.

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 1 Dec 2003 12:06 AM

Get AnyDVD HD and copy any DVD or Blu-ray disc with ease!
It is already over 90 days since last post to this thread, you're not allowed to post here anymore.