·afterdawn.com home  ·Search  

This discussion forum has been closed.
Starting new topics or replying to existing topics is no longer possible.
We welcome all users to use AfterDawn's discussion forums instead.
 

 

Wasted Activation

Get AnyDVD HD and copy any DVD or Blu-ray disc with ease!
Posted Message
MurdokTBC 
Newbie

13 Feb 2004 11:43 PM
I feel a little ripped, I installed Games X Copy and activated it only to find out that it wouldn't recognize my CD burner. So I install it on my other system and it worked fine. But I have wasted 1 of my 3 activations. I find this to be a problem because every year I F-Disk my system to clean out the clutter and do a fresh install of my OS. So what happens with this software with limited activations? Any suggestions or work arounds for this "limited" activation issue? After all I did buy it and DVD X Copy Platinum, seems like a lot of bucks for software with that has this type of limitation.
Murdock_TBC
It Don't Hurt Till' The Bone Shows :~)
MurdokTBC 
Newbie

14 Feb 2004 12:16 AM
Just want to clarify 1 other thing, both Games X Copy and DVD X Copy Platinum are working fine for me :)
Murdock_TBC
It Don't Hurt Till' The Bone Shows :~)
K7N2 Delta/Athlon 3200/1GByte Corsair TwinX PC3200/
ATI AIW 9800Pro/2 80gig Sata,RAID 0/LITEON LDW-811S
XP PRO
ap6236 
Newbie

14 Feb 2004 6:24 PM
so you're able to back up a cd, and then use it as an original? Did the cd have pretty good copy protection? If I may ask what games have you tried it on?

It failed miserably for me on Rise of Nations and Battlefield 1942. I'm going to buy a new PC game this week (leaning toward Call of Duty), and I'll let you know how it works.

Did you have success at backing it up straight to cd? or creating the image first, and then writing the image to cd?

thanks,

Tim
MurdokTBC 
Newbie

15 Feb 2004 9:15 PM
ap6236...I had been trying to backup Diablo 2 expansion, Lords of Destruction, for some time and this was the first program I had any success with. The backup works just like the original and yes I did make an image to the HD first....good luck to ya and will post if I hit something that wont backup for me.
Murdock_TBC
It Don't Hurt Till' The Bone Shows :~)
K7N2 Delta/Athlon 3200/1GByte Corsair TwinX PC3200/
ATI AIW 9800Pro/2 80gig Sata,RAID 0/LITEON LDW-811S
XP PRO
ringdown 
Inactive

16 Feb 2004 6:02 AM
I would feel ripped to. That is highway robbery giving a limit on how many times you can use software. I thought everyone would have learnt from Microsoft's mistakes
porker 
Inactive

16 Feb 2004 9:28 PM
you just call if you use up your activations there really nice about that.
ap6236 
Newbie

17 Feb 2004 11:06 AM
yeah - with so many people sharing information (ie, activations)...they just make sure that it's not being used hundreds of times a day.

MurdokTBC 
Newbie

20 Feb 2004 9:02 PM
Hmmm, The powers that be have shined on me, I see now that all the software I had bought shows 1 activation used and 5 activations left...wheeew...a little releif.
Murdock_TBC
It Don't Hurt Till' The Bone Shows :~)
goldrush 
Newbie

21 Feb 2004 5:43 PM
Everybody please give a list of games that have been backed up succesfully.Thanks!!
Pent 4 2.60GHz 800MHz FSB
1 Ghz RAM
120 GB HD
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro OC
HP DVD writer 300c(combo)Dvd+RW/CD-RW
Lite-on 16x Int IDE DVD-ROM
Andric 
Newbie

26 Feb 2004 5:20 AM
I have backed up & now use from the HD image:
DiabloII expansion
Neverwinter Nights
Divine Divinity
Return to Castle Wolfenstien
Spellforce
Temple of Elemental Evil
Icewind Dale

GamesX itself is very very slow to start up I find but the virtual drives works great - really happy not having to find & load the game cd's now.


ap6236 
Newbie

27 Feb 2004 10:55 PM
I've also backed up Battlefield 1942, Rise of Nations, Call of Duty, and Empires: dawn of the modern world.

Well, let me rephrase that. on each of these, I've made a succesfully executing image on my hard drive. I cannot, however, get these written to CDR. :(

I just got empires: dawn of the modern world today...(birthday present!) - and I got the image the first try...I have been playing it more, than experimenting with burning...but it seems to have the same problem all the others did (specifically like Rise of Nations)
Get AnyDVD HD and copy any DVD or Blu-ray disc with ease!
It is already over 90 days since last post to this thread, you're not allowed to post here anymore.