·afterdawn.com home  ·Search  

This discussion forum has been closed.
Starting new topics or replying to existing topics is no longer possible.
We welcome all users to use AfterDawn's discussion forums instead.
 

 

XPRESS 3.2.1 PROBLEMS AND ISSUES

Page:  1 2 3 4 5 6 ... Last
Get AnyDVD HD and copy any DVD or Blu-ray disc with ease!
Posted Message
CyCoSiS 
Junior Member

29 Oct 2003 10:03 PM
what changes were made in this update
321_w00t 
Inactive

30 Oct 2003 10:47 AM
Here are the official release notes:

Fixes in this release:

Issues with over compression using certain movies and hardware configurations have been resolved

Reading has been improved eliminating most read error problems



Pretty short and sweet, but a VAST improvement.

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 30 Oct 2003 11:01 AM

nicebeats 
Inactive

30 Oct 2003 1:30 PM
I'm trying to use 3.2.1 express and it just hangs i uninstalled 3.2.0 and then installed the new upadet but still get the hanging of the program.Is any on else haaving this problem
321_w00t 
Inactive

30 Oct 2003 1:33 PM
nice,

Have you had this issue with any other versions of the software?

What are your system specs, including OS?

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 30 Oct 2003 5:59 PM

lucmarcil 
Newbie

30 Oct 2003 4:07 PM
Does XPress 3.2.1 solve the "no burn" issue?

I installed 3.0.5 when I received it only to find out that it would read my movies and immediately after, come up with a dialog box stating that the movie was burnt successfully when in fact no burning had occurred. I had to uninstall 3.0.5 and re-install 3.0.0.

Before I do this all over again and install 3.2.1, I want to know if this issue was solved.

Thanks

Luc
THoff 
Junior Member

30 Oct 2003 4:09 PM
V3.2.0 had solved that problem, at least for me. I've also used V3.2.1 successfully without running into the InstaBurn(tm) problem.
Jaymo 
Inactive

30 Oct 2003 7:01 PM
Getting closer.

Xpress reads from my Matshita DVD-ROM with no issues.

Xpress writes to my Plextor 708a with no issues.

Media used Maxell DVD+RW.

Movie backed up is Bringing Down the House.

Movie will NOT play in my Matshita DVD-ROM.

Movie will NOT play in my stand-alone. (Panasonic DVD-RV27)

Movie plays in my Plextor 708a without errors.

Opened DVD Decrypter before playing. From drop down menu with Plextor 708a showing, chose: Close Session. (Waited and nothing appeared to happen but no errors) From drop down menu, chose: Close Disc. (following error:)

I/O Error
Device [1:0:0] Plextor DVDR PX-708A 1.03 (E:)

ScsiStatus: 0 x 02
Interpretation: Check Condition

CDB: 5B 00 05 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Interpretation: Close Track/Session

Sense Area: 70 00 05 00 00 00 00 0A 00 00 00 00 24 00 00 00 00 00
Interpretation: Invalid Field in CDB

Hit Cancel. (Following error.)

I/O Error
Device [1:0:0] Plextor DVDR PX-708A 1.03 (E:)

ScsiStatus: 0 x 02
Interpretation: Check Condition

CDB: 5B 00 06 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Interpretation: Close Track/Session

Sense Area: 70 00 05 00 00 00 00 0A 00 00 00 00 24 00 00 00 00 00
Interpretation: Invalid Field in CDB

I am so close now. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 30 Oct 2003 7:03 PM

DzzRed66 
Newbie

30 Oct 2003 8:29 PM
Well, I finally got a version that works for me....yea!!!!!

2ghz
1 gb memory (ddr2100)
80 gb & 100 gb hard drive


Yvette
Muzztek 
Newbie

30 Oct 2003 11:47 PM
Jaymo

That error is to do with the dvd+r media and that software. I use to see that error when I would burn dvd+r disks but when I use dvd-r media I dont.
The +R disk still plays in my DVD Player.
So I just use -R media with the other software

By the way 321 studios.... good job.
The software now works as it should. No Problems encountered for me anyway.

Version 3.2.1.0
P3 1.gig
Asus CUSL2 mobo
512 SD133 memory
40gb WD Harddrive
LG -\+ Ram DVD Writer
Pioneer DVD Rom
lfc 
Inactive

31 Oct 2003 12:05 AM
nicebeats,

"I'm trying to use 3.2.1 express and it just hangs".... Yeah, me too I'm having the same problem. It started when I upgraded to version 3.2.0 and it carried over to the current version.
Is the Device Manager in your system missing the Patin-Couffin driver, just like mine? I suspect that might have something to do with the problem.
Is there anyway I can get Patin-Couffin installed in my system?

Windows XP Service Pack 1
Pentium 4 CPU 2.53 GHz
504 MB of RAM
80G HDR
ATAPI CDROM 48X
HP DVD Writer 200j
alaskanw 
Inactive

31 Oct 2003 4:43 AM
I have both a HP DVD+RW which i use to read the dvds and a DVD-R Pioneer 105, after the upgrade, my dvd drives have disappered from the My Computer and i have been unable to make any successful movies, including Anger Management and The Hulk, both errored during writing on the DVD-R buring process. Everything worked fine before latest upgarde, which was completed, and i did reboot.
AlaskanWolf
toolman18 
Senior Member

31 Oct 2003 7:33 AM
alaskanw
If you are able correct the drive problem in My Computer,run the Drive Select to which you want to burn with either the HP or Pioneer.


Rag-Tag 12
goldrush 
Newbie

31 Oct 2003 8:06 AM
I use 3.2.0 and finally have had no problems with backing up anything including The Hulk and 28 Days Later.Does anyone have a list of the movies that were being over compressed?I really don't want to update to 3.2.1 if I don't need to.Thanks!
toolman18 
Senior Member

31 Oct 2003 8:50 AM
goldrush,
Version 3.2.1 was updated to correct the over compression problems.As to a list of movies it would be hard to say as in which way it was backed up,using the Entire Disk or not.Entire Disk disabled less compression as you are ommitting the Extras,and some have alot of them.Using the Entire Disk more compression to fit it all on one disk.If you are not having problems then just keep it where you are at.

Rag-Tag 12
321_w00t 
Inactive

31 Oct 2003 10:41 AM
Jaymo,

I see that you have a 1.03 after your pioneer discription. Meaning you have the latest firmware that was released on the 28th of this month from Plextor. We have not tested this firmware, as we still have v1.02 of the firmware which we were not having many issues with. But I have done a few searches for issues with this firmware version and have come up with several comments about the firmware breaking parts that worked and fixing parts that were broke. So major issues in this firmware version. If as many people are complaining about this firmware from Plextor, I wouldn't doubt that they know about the issues. So, hopefully there will be a new firmware update soon.
Jaymo 
Inactive

31 Oct 2003 12:09 PM
Backups made from Bringing Down the House with both Maxell DVD+RW and DVD+R work in my Plextor and stand-alone player. Haven't figured out why my DVD-ROM wont play them, but everything else is good.

Only issue that remains is I can't get any - (minus) media to work at all.
alaskanw 
Inactive

31 Oct 2003 2:20 PM
I fixed the problem of the drive not showing, but it still shows "BURN ERROR" with Express when burning

I am downgraded to 3.2.0 and *still* get the problem.
AlaskanWolf
lrvalley 
Newbie

31 Oct 2003 5:59 PM
Just installed 3.2.1, and this is the first version I have had that won't burn to DVD-R media. DVD+RW works fine, but DVD-R either goes immediately to finalizing (never writes movie), or write movie and then can't finalize.

What's up?
cust20000 
Inactive

31 Oct 2003 10:24 PM
Mine is weird, don't know what is up. When I tried to automatically burn a blank DVD after copying it immediately finalizes giving me a nice COASTER. Was getting some success by waiting until movie copied, then inserting blank DVD (+r) and it just now did the same thing, said it was complete after about 10 seconds, finalized, and voila, another coaster. Have not had any sustained success since 3.02
ddman 
Newbie

1 Nov 2003 9:07 AM
in my expierience this program works the best with -R discs for some reason the program wasnt designed for +R discs is that true?

I got Version 3.2.0 a little worried a bout updating to 3.2.1 because it may cause problems again because 3.2.0 is the only version that works for me except version 2.5.1 which i installed from the disk
ddman 
Newbie

1 Nov 2003 9:11 AM
i have noticed on the website www.dvdxcopy.com that one of dvd x copy (platinum) can backup up episodic DVDs and when i had a look at DVD X copy Express it does not have that as a feature does this mean that express is incapable of backing up episodic DVDS because ive just purchased the simpsons series 3 4 disc box set and are waiting confirmation to back it up
LETS ALL LAUGH AT SUNDERLAND HAHAHAHA
Morgandj 
Junior Member

1 Nov 2003 9:25 AM
I have had problems with most versions except 3.0 and 3.2.1 which DOES work with +R media as I don't have - media I can't verify that.

If using +RW media you should format the disk before use using something like Nero -RW does not require formating.

Anyway thumbs up for me with 3.2.1 a 'keeper'


AMD 2600+
MSI K7N420 Nforce
512 Meg DDR
G4 4600ti
HP DVD Writer 300e
LG GCE-8400B CDRW
Hitachi GD-5000 DVD-ROM
XP Pro

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 1 Nov 2003 9:25 AM

goldrush 
Newbie

1 Nov 2003 9:29 AM
You can also back up episodic disks with X-press.I've done Family Guy seasons 1&2 with no problem.Must use the "entire disk" option though.And to a previous post...I use nothing but +R and have backed up at least 30 dvd's that work in standalone players as well as PS2 and XBOX.
HP Pav a250n
Pent 4 2.60GHz
1 Ghz RAM
120 GB HD
Nvidia GeForce4 MX 440
HP DVD writer 300c(combo)Dvd+RW/CD-RW
ATAPI CDROM 48x

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 1 Nov 2003 9:52 AM

MARKEN 
Newbie

1 Nov 2003 10:21 AM
I previously posted a similiar question to the 3.2.0 thread by mistake. I just upgraded to 3.2.1 and have done two succesfull titles. It takes slightly longer to ripp and burn, I guess because of less compression? Anyway, my question is: does better compression mean the 99% problem has been rectified yet? Has anyone tried to ripp and burn any titles that they were previously having this problem with?
Zeus25 
Inactive

1 Nov 2003 12:08 PM
I just tried to backup "Italian Job" with the new 3.2.1 version realese and I did get a little further this time. The program did not hang at 99%. Instead it begain finalizing the disc after 10 sec of burning. I chose the entire disc option and will try just copying the movie next.

I would like to know what the problem is. Could anyone else tell me if they have made a successful 'Entire Disc' backup of this movie? I have been trying to copy it for a month now. Is 321 working on the issue? Have they used this particular film as a test? It seems to be pretty damn difficult to copy so maybe 321 should consider adding it to the list of flicks to test with?!?!

Please let me know if anyone has a solution. I am using:
NEC 1300A 1.08 official firmware
P4 1.8
XP Home SP1
1.5 GB Rambus
Princo -R 4X Media

Don't even try saying its the media, I have made over 100 backups with these with the only problems lying in hardware and software (X Copy)!!!

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 1 Nov 2003 12:11 PM

Get AnyDVD HD and copy any DVD or Blu-ray disc with ease!
It is already over 90 days since last post to this thread, you're not allowed to post here anymore.
Page:  1 2 3 4 5 6 ... Last