·afterdawn.com home  ·Search  

This discussion forum has been closed.
Starting new topics or replying to existing topics is no longer possible.
We welcome all users to use AfterDawn's discussion forums instead.
 

 

Instal 3.0.2 problem - please help

Get AnyDVD HD and copy any DVD or Blu-ray disc with ease!
Posted Message
Avi8tor 
Newbie

22 Sep 2003 3:13 PM
Hi,

new to this BB but feel like old hand trying to install DVD X Copy Xpress. Tried and tried ….

1. Downloaded trial version 13 Sep. Error msg “Xpress has caused an error in VSO_HWE.DLL.”

Contacted sales – nothing! OK why should they talk to me I don’t own it?

2. Downloaded and paid for app on 16th Sep. Sent following e-mail to eurosupport:

I've read your sponsored forum with interest as I've just bought Xpress 3.0.2 and can't get past the "Driveselect has caused an error in VSO_HWE.DLL on reboot" msg. I've taken your collective advice and tried the swop with the file from 2.5.1 no improvement. I've uninstalled and reinstalled so many times, no luck. Does anyone have any ideas? Thanks in advance.
Sam Rodgers

AMD Athlon XP2400+
Win Me - (sorry)
512 DDR RAM from Crucial
RICOH MP5240A-DP with latest firmware 1.05
A-Open CRW 2440
Fujitsu 60 Gb
Seagate 20 Gb

OKAY tech spt still not talking to me??????

3. Asked for update on problem solving early, middle of day and late on 17th.

No answer from tech spt! A trend appears?

4. 18th, got bored and sent the following, please note the OS this time.

Hello Chaps,
put your little prog on new partition operating on XP Pro - only programme on drive - no change in fault. Mmmh
Can I please have some service and an "appropriate suggestion" or two.
Regards,

No answer from tech spt. Am I surprised? In short no.

5. 19th asked for update on solution. No answer from tech spt.

6. It’s now the 22nd and sent this.

Hi,
it's now the 22nd not heard squat so far!
Are you really a tech spt?
Thinking of you,

PS. Please take the time to reply 'cos at the moment I'm assuming that everyone has problems and you're over worked. Interesting angle for a mag article.

The day is not over but so far no answ……..

7. Later today I received hard copy from 321. Installed it and had errors in 1 and 2 above! Joy of joys.

My registry is OK.

Now I have paid for some software that is probably only useful as a coffee mat. Not too happy with the service at all. (Please note that if you ever fly with the airline that I work for the service is good and the software works which is handy on a 737).

Do any of you guys have any idea how to get the prog to work? I appreciate your help and appreciate your wading through my bleat above.

PS. I hope your software works and 321 are not busy because of that :)

This post may contain a trace of nuts.
security 
Senior Member

22 Sep 2003 4:29 PM
I'm allergic to nuts so I cant help you much.
however start here @ http://dvdxcopy.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/49910
I also suggest you use the new thread started today by a 321 studio rep for support issues @ http://dvdxcopy.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/49771


try the tips in the first link. get back to us if you have no success. im sure others will have some more suggestions soon

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 22 Sep 2003 4:32 PM

toolman18 
Senior Member

22 Sep 2003 5:09 PM
Avi8tor
Uninstall the version you have on the pc.Go to Program Files/Express delete the Express Folder/Reboot.Turn off any Anti-Virus Software,install Express,choose no on reboot.Go to Device manager you should have a VSO Device listed.Then go to Program Files/321Studios/Express/PcSetup Icon/Pattin Cauffin click (+) the DVDRW should be listed.Go to Drive Select and choose the DVDRW,you will not have any listing if this is the only burner you have.Reboot,and see if this does anything.

Rag-Tag 12
Avi8tor 
Newbie

22 Sep 2003 5:50 PM
toolman18,
thanks for the reply. Followed your instruction - also disabled Norton Firewall. In Device Manager no VSO Device listed. Tried whole uninstal and reinstal again. Same problem with VSO_HWE.DLL file. If you have any further ideas I'll give them a bash tomorrow.
Thanks for the help:)
toolman18 
Senior Member

22 Sep 2003 6:52 PM
Avi8tor,
Run the Belarc Advisor and print it out and compare what is listed installed to the list of known software problems and see if any apply.
The VSO Device is the burn engine needed for Express

http://dvdxcopy.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/49910

Also the latest firmware appears to be 1.11

http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_firmware.php?category=4&manufactor=39

Rag-Tag 12
security 
Senior Member

22 Sep 2003 7:10 PM
toolman
checking the "blacklist" was the first thing i suggested. Avi8tor never said anything about it after that, so i was thinking he/she did not have any conflicting programs. having a belarc report and printing it out to compare it too is a good idea.
Avi8tor
BELARC ADVISOR @
http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html


toolman18 
Senior Member

22 Sep 2003 7:19 PM
security,
I have used the Belarc Utility for a couple years now.Easier to read what is exactly on the pc

Rag-Tag 12
spideymac 
Inactive

23 Sep 2003 6:08 AM
Avi8tor:

I went thru essentially the same exercise in futility that you are apparently experiencing and had relegated v3.0.2 to the update grave yard. Then tried one more thing: purged/flushed my registry using TweakXP Pro. It found 488 incorrect entries and with my permission after inspection of each, removed them. After removing old folder and a clean re-install of v3.0.2, it worked perfectly. I posted this solution sometime ago probably before your time. I also posted this caveat: don't monkey with the registry unless you know what you are doing....first, execute a Restore Point. Then, back it up......twiceLOL

RAG-TAG 58
The older I get the better I know how to utilize my time.

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 23 Sep 2003 6:11 AM

Avi8tor 
Newbie

23 Sep 2003 4:37 PM
Hi Guys,
followed toolman’s advice and checked the blacklist – no conflicts. Ran msconfig to stop everything except: explorer, LVcoms and itouch.
No spyware. ASPI updated but not using 321 ftp site as it wouldn’t allow anonymous access.
No change same error msg at reboot and attempting to run.
Thinking about trying registry but don’t know enough to do anything other than to run “regedit”.
If there are any other ideas apart from get my money back then please let me know, I want this rather “difficult” prog to work. Thanks for your time and effort:)
Avi8tor
toolman18 
Senior Member

23 Sep 2003 4:47 PM
Avi8tor
If you don't have the VSO Device you will not be able to do anything.Have you tried updating the firmware to the drive as I posted earlier?
And what version are you trying to run again?

Rag-Tag 12
Conrad 
Inactive

23 Sep 2003 7:40 PM
toolman18,

ireland posted a VSO reinstaller and the link to it. I can't find it. Do you remember?


Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
toolman18 
Senior Member

23 Sep 2003 8:29 PM
Conrad,
I did remember seeing a little while back but did a web search VSO Software.Hope this helps

http://www.vso-software.fr/products.htm

Rag-Tag 12
Conrad 
Inactive

24 Sep 2003 9:17 AM
toolman18,

I found it:

http://www.vso-software.fr/download.htm and it's called "Patin-Couffin installer/remover"

Avi8tor,

I have not tried this, so, if you want to try it make sure you set a restore point in ME before you do it.


Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
Glass 
Inactive

24 Sep 2003 10:23 AM
Avi8tor,

The guys here try and are usually great help. However, I see you just upgraded to XP. If you did, you have to uninstall the software, delete the 321 folder, install SP1 for XP, then reinstall the software. You need to install SP1 before installing this DVD burning software.
Rag Tag-1
Avi8tor 
Newbie

24 Sep 2003 10:31 AM
Glass, I'm trying to run this in the C: primarydospart with Me. XP is on I: Will it still interfere and should I remove XP which I'm not in love with anyway?
Thanks,
Avi8tor.
Glass 
Inactive

24 Sep 2003 1:40 PM
Avi8tor,

Personally, I would run it under XP instead of ME. Though it should run under either, XP is a more stable platform. As far as interferences go, that is a difficult one to figure out. Just make sure you are getting a clean booting OS, in both your ME and XP.
Rag Tag-1
Get AnyDVD HD and copy any DVD or Blu-ray disc with ease!
It is already over 90 days since last post to this thread, you're not allowed to post here anymore.