·afterdawn.com home  ·Search  

This discussion forum has been closed.
Starting new topics or replying to existing topics is no longer possible.
We welcome all users to use AfterDawn's discussion forums instead.
 

 

Platinum refuse to start burning

Page:  1 2
Get AnyDVD HD and copy any DVD or Blu-ray disc with ease!
Posted Message
szelivia 
Newbie

21 Sep 2003 2:12 AM
I can't burn a single disk with Platinum (3.0). It just refuse start burning. I have also a separate version Xpress installed which working just fine. But if I try to use Xpress under Platinum It's read a disk and after I put blank in won't burn.

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 21 Sep 2003 2:31 AM

Conrad 
Inactive

22 Sep 2003 10:28 AM
szelivia,
Could you give us some info about your system.

Your O/S and is it updated to the latest Service Pack?

Your burner and is it updated to the latest firmware?

Any other CD/DVD burning software installed?


Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
szelivia 
Newbie

22 Sep 2003 11:10 AM
Win XP SP1
Nero 5.5
Burner is working without problem with DVDXpress.
Conrad 
Inactive

22 Sep 2003 12:31 PM
szelivia,

Who makes your burner?

Do you have Nero's InCD installed?




Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
dave64 
Inactive

22 Sep 2003 1:37 PM
I too am having this same problem with platinum
refusing to burn discs.reads the dvd ok,then just asks for blank media all the time no matter how many different blank discs I try.
The only way I can copy discs is by using the temp folder files in a stand alone version of nero.I also have xpress which also burns fine.

system:
windows xp (no service pack)
AMD Athlon xp2000+(1.67GHz)
512mb RAM
Philips dvdrw228
Conrad 
Inactive

22 Sep 2003 1:57 PM
dave64,
Uninstall Platinum and Express and DVDXCopy if you have it.

Update your XP to Service Pack 1.

Reinstall those applications again and then try it.



Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
dave64 
Inactive

22 Sep 2003 4:45 PM
I have taken the steps you advised,ie:uninstall
software and add service pack 1,and re-installed platinum but it still doeos not let me burn any discs.Still asks for blank media.
ireland 
AfterDawn Addict

22 Sep 2003 6:48 PM
SZELIVIA,
GET AND UPGRADE TO PLATINUM VERSION-3.1.1 AND THAT SHOULD FIX YOUR PROBLEM..
NEXT TIME POST IN THE PLATINUM THREAD......
HERE

http://dvdxcopy.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/46/48261
YOUR MORALE RAG-TAG "IRELAND" RAG-TAG (#4)

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 22 Sep 2003 6:49 PM

szelivia 
Newbie

23 Sep 2003 1:49 AM
I have OptiWest DVD+RW/+R burner and InCD.

ireland, Thank for advise. It fix problem in part. Advanced mode working now, but I'm having the same problem with simple mode.
Conrad 
Inactive

23 Sep 2003 10:34 AM
dave64,

What other CD/DVD burning software do you have installed on your system?



Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
Conrad 
Inactive

23 Sep 2003 10:35 AM
szelivia,

Remove InCD as that's a known conflicting program.
Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
dave64 
Inactive

23 Sep 2003 3:15 PM
Other software includes sonic my dvd v3 and pinnacle studio v8.8.
Conrad 
Inactive

23 Sep 2003 3:54 PM
dave64,


Temporarily uninstall Sonic My DVD and Pinnacle.

Let us know.



Rag Tag Dual-Dozen
dave64 
Inactive

23 Sep 2003 5:56 PM
have un-installed said software and tried again.still no burning.
toolman18 
Senior Member

23 Sep 2003 7:31 PM
dave64,

Download this utility,it will show everything on your pc.Print it out and compare it to this list and see if any of it applies.

http://dvdxcopy.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/49910


BELARC ADVISOR
http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html

Rag-Tag 12
TULIP 
Junior Member

24 Sep 2003 2:38 AM
Dude do the clean install not just add/remove..
1.Uninstall DVDXC Platinum fron ADD/REMOVE PRG.
2.Go to Window Explorer,under the Program click on the + next to 321 Studio,now delete DVDXC Platinum close the box.
3.Go to Start then run type REGEDIT Enter it will take you the window regitry now click on the + sign next to HKEY_CURREENT USER,Click on + sign next to SOFTWARE then click on + next to 321 studios now delete the DVDXC Platinum key.
Now click on + next to HKEY_LOCAL MACHINE,Click
on + next SOFWARE,Click on + next to 321 Studio
then delete the key DVDXC Platinum,clost the registry.
4.Now go to START...PROGRAM...ACCESSORIES...SYSTEM TOOLS...
DISK CLEANUP....CLICK OK.
5.Restart your computer
6.Install DVDXC PLATINUM.
szelivia 
Newbie

24 Sep 2003 1:51 PM
I did it, but it didn't fix a problem
dave64 
Inactive

24 Sep 2003 2:57 PM
done the total un-install and reg edit,reloaded platinum and now get ifo errors using my test copy disc (italian job 1969).
dont now get to the burn tab.
nckmru 
Newbie

27 Sep 2003 10:51 AM
PENTIUM 4
1Gb of Mem
220 Gb of SCSI HD
SONY DVD Reader
PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-104 1.41

OS: WINDOWS XP SERVICE PACK 1

DVD XCOPY PLATINUM 3.1.1

NO INCD installed

READ DVD OK … BURN START AND SAY EVERYTHING IS OK AFTER 3 SECONDS … NOTHING ON DVD

DVD XPRESS TRIAL WORKED PERFECTLY FOR 2 DVDS NAD ON THE FIRST TIME! No configuration changed between TRIAL and PLATINUM!

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 27 Sep 2003 11:14 AM

garyjay 
Junior Member

7 Oct 2003 12:00 AM
I too am also having the same problem. When buring copy using Platinum, it reads source, asks for blank and NEVER recognizes that I've inserted the blank and therefore I never get the green START button. With DVD Xpress (still installed), it works fine.
chaz4 
Newbie

7 Oct 2003 11:59 AM
Me, too! Just "please insert a blank DVD"!

No InCD, no Drop to Disk, no Nero. Should i install Nero?

CWW+++
murrayv 
Inactive

8 Oct 2003 12:05 AM
I too have experienced this very same problem. The cause in my case though is that express (simple mode) refuses to use the options I have chosen in settings, so instead of using my TDK 440n DVD burner (slave) it is trying to burn a DVD disc using my Liteon 52327s cdr/w drive (master). I have as of yet been able to resolve this problem. As for other programs possibly being the problem I have the following software installed and can burn dvd’s with my TDK 440n and Dvdxcopy platinum flawlessly (in advanced mode, not express).


O/S Windows XP Pro. (sp1 installed)

Nero 6.0

Roxio Ezcd creator 6.1 (with Drag to Disc installed and running perfectly, it has not interfered with any other software I have)


Alcohol 120% 1.4.6 Build 711

DVD x copy platinum ver 3.1.1


Relevant system components (an oldie but a goodie)


Asus A7pro mobo

CPU Amd 750 duron

512 megs memory

Liteon 52327s cdr/w drive

TDK 440n dvd recorder Firmware revision 1.06 (Since I have yet to encounter a problem and everything seems to be running smoothly I have decided to stay with the current firmware revision that my drive came with.


If anyone has a solution for express (simple mode)and making it use the drive I have chosen in settings I would greatly appreciate the help.


Murray.
ireland 
AfterDawn Addict

8 Oct 2003 2:01 AM
MURRAYV,
CHANGE YOU DVD BURNER TO MASTER AND CHANGE YOUR CD-BURNER TO SLAVE.....AND REINSTALL PLATINUM OVER ITS SELF...OR DISCONNECT YOUR CD-BURNER JUST TO SEE IF IT SELECTS YOUR DVD-BURNER..AFTER A REBOOT....
YOUR MORALE RAG-TAG "IRELAND" RAG-TAG (#4)
nest 
Newbie

8 Oct 2003 5:22 AM
I had same problem using simple mode.
It just asks to put in blank media.
Disabeling my cd-burner made the start button green and the burn ok.

My cd-burner liteon 48246 is prim. master.
My dvd-burner sony dru500 is sec. master.
It didn´t have to be on the same ide contr. to make trouble.

Regards
nest
garyjay 
Junior Member

8 Oct 2003 11:50 AM
Is there an easy way to disable/enable a CD Burner in Windows XP? I burn music CDs much more often that Video DVDs. I'd hate to have to open my computer case and unplug my CD burner every time I want to burn a DVD with DVDXCOPY Platinum.

If disabling the CD Burner is required to enable the DVD burner to work with Platinum simple mode, I'd keep using the old Xpress. I would hope, since this works in their DVDXpress standalone version, a patch will be released that will enable the new Platinum to work with
Get AnyDVD HD and copy any DVD or Blu-ray disc with ease!
It is already over 90 days since last post to this thread, you're not allowed to post here anymore.
Page:  1 2