·afterdawn.com home  ·Search  

This discussion forum has been closed.
Starting new topics or replying to existing topics is no longer possible.
We welcome all users to use AfterDawn's discussion forums instead.
 

 

DRX500UL PREPARES BUT WILL NOT BURN

Get AnyDVD HD and copy any DVD or Blu-ray disc with ease!
Posted Message
freddyy 
Newbie

28 Jun 2003 11:19 AM
Using: Windows 2k pro, P4/2.4ghz, 1G RAM, 120G HD. XCOPY 1.5.2. Prepares backup but will not burn. Asked to remove original and insert blank. After doing so, am told unable to initialize drive/driver. All backround programs closed out. Removed all utilities that cause problems according to automated help. Does anyone have any ideas??

Thanks
Bob
Conrad 
Inactive

28 Jun 2003 11:40 AM
freddyy,
What is automated help?
Anyway, please provide a list of other burning software programs you have or have had on your machine.
Service pack version?
Are you connecting via firewire or USB?
Does the Sony have the lastest firmware?

We're real live people here, so hopefully we'll get you up and running.

PIV 2.8G, 1 Gig Rambus Memory, XP SP1
400 Gig HD Storage
Sony DRU 500AX, Liteon LTD166
freddyy 
Newbie

28 Jun 2003 12:10 PM
Conrad:
Automated help is the recording you get on the 24 hr support line. It lists the utilities that have been known to cause conflicts with XCOPY. I have removed all that it said could cause me problems. The firmware on the Sony has been upgraded to the latest and greatest. I have the other burning software that came bundled with the burner installed. Showbiz,Sonic My DVD & power DVD. The Sony works fine for playback, and I have put home video on DVD, so the driver has got to be working. I have tried both USB and firewire. USB waits for about a half hour before telling me I should insert blank DVD while the firewire connection tells me instantaneously. But I get the same results with both. The properties tab on XCOPY says I have version 1.5.2.0. Where do I find the service pack info?

I really appreciate your attempting to help, and I'll take any advice you may wish to offer.

Bob
freddyy 
Newbie

28 Jun 2003 12:32 PM
One more tidbit of info. On a whim, when I couldn't get this to fly, I downloaded the trial version of express. Of course, it doesn't do the whole movie, but it worked.
toolman18 
Senior Member

28 Jun 2003 12:36 PM
freddyy
I believe Conrad is refering to the service pack for Win2k do you have service pack3 and new update is service pack4.You can get it by using the Windows update feature,or by going out to Microsoft to get it.Is this installed also:Veritas DLA (Drive Letter Access) for packet writing?
Rag-Tag 12
freddyy 
Newbie

28 Jun 2003 1:20 PM
The answer, I had three, now four, and veritas DLA is installed. What would be the differences that express works and XCOPY won't?

If we get this thing up and running, I'll owe you guys big time.
Conrad 
Inactive

28 Jun 2003 1:31 PM
freddyy,
Hmmmmm, how much is "I'll owe you guys big time"?
Just kidding.
Uninstall, and not just disable, the DLA.
Uninstall Showbiz and Sonic My DVD.
Do a search for CDR4_2K.SYS on your system. Make sure the search function looks for hidden and system files.

Post back to us.

PIV 2.8G, 1 Gig Rambus Memory, XP SP1
400 Gig HD Storage
Sony DRU 500AX, Liteon LTD166
freddyy 
Newbie

28 Jun 2003 2:46 PM
Conrad & Toolman:

After upgrading to service pack four, I tried it again. IT WORKED LIKE A CHARM!!!! Haven't checked the burn quality, but the machine said burn completed successfully. Should I still do what you said in the last posting? Or postpone it to a more troublesome time. I do use it for converting the home video tape to DVD. I can't do that with XCOPY, and would have to constantly install and uninstall it. What do you think? By the way, you guys are a couple of geniuses, and I'd buy you a couple of cold ones if there were a way to do it! Thank you both so much.
Conrad 
Inactive

28 Jun 2003 3:21 PM
freddyy,
If it works don't go any further.

As far as uninstalling those programs the only reason we do that is to troubleshoot. We would have no intention of leaving anything uninstalled unless it directly conflicted with
DVDXCopy and there's not very many that do.


Good luck and thanks for the offer.


PIV 2.8G, 1 Gig Rambus Memory, XP SP1
400 Gig HD Storage
Sony DRU 500AX, Liteon LTD166
freddyy 
Newbie

28 Jun 2003 8:28 PM
Conrad:

Just a (hopefully) final note. I bought this software three weeks ago, and have been trying to get it to work since then. I can't tell you how much I appreciate your help. It's people like you that make this a great world to live in. I'm not trying to be schmoozy, but you can't possibly know how frustrated I've been. Thank you again, and if the opportunity should by some quirk of fate present itself, I'll make it up to you.

Thanks
Conrad 
Inactive

28 Jun 2003 9:17 PM
freddyy,

Your quote:
"Thank you again, and if the opportunity should by some quirk of fate present itself, I'll make it up to you."



You already have.

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 28 Jun 2003 9:17 PM

freddyy 
Newbie

30 Jun 2003 8:14 PM
Conrad:

I'm hoping that you check back on the thread, because I've noticed something that just isn't right. Backed up a movie that was required to be split to two coasters. First one played back fine, second one was s***. I hate to create another coaster because over the past few weeks I have made enough to last a lifetime. Second one tiled and stilled. The audio was there, and occasionally went quiet, only to return again. Reader would go dark for a moment, and then seem to grab small amounts of data. Any Ideas? Bad media? Am I doing something wrong? I'm hoping that someone not necessarily older, but undoubedly wiser can help me out again. Stuff that fits to one disk seem to be fine. Any ideas?

Thanks AGAIN!!
freddyy 
Newbie

30 Jun 2003 8:19 PM
Another thing that seems not right: Since putting in service pack 4, the backups play on the dvd drive, but the originals don't. I get anywhere from 1 to 3 seconds and it just dies.
toolman18 
Senior Member

30 Jun 2003 8:23 PM
freddyy
After you back up the first disk end DXC,close the program.Go back to DXC then in Advance options choose skip disk one,use a RW though.I don't know if it was asked but do you have DMA enabled? Also no other apps. running in background,you can ctrl-alt-delete DXC should be the only program running,also you can check processes tab also. I doubt bad media unless every other one is bad.Are you using both a ROM and the Sony for backups.If so just try using the Sony for both and see what happens.But again use RW disks
Rag-Tag 12

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 30 Jun 2003 8:34 PM

Conrad 
Inactive

30 Jun 2003 8:39 PM
freddyy,
Do what toolman18 said and skip disk one. Off the top of my head it sounds like either bad media or your burn buffer went whackey.
What movie is this and have your other 2 disk backups worked?
I'm assumimg your using Power DVD to play DVD's on your computer. If you are, uninstall it and then reinstall it and see if that fixes the problem with playing original DVD's.



PIV 2.8G, 1 Gig Rambus Memory, XP SP1
400 Gig HD Storage
Sony DRU 500AX, Liteon LTD166
freddyy 
Newbie

1 Jul 2003 9:35 PM
Conrad & Toolman:

Will try what you have suggested. I hope that they keep the thread active, because it will be a couple of days before I can seriously work on it. Have to keep the wolves from the door, and have guests coming in for the week-end. The movie the puked on the second disk is Turner & Hootch, which is the only one I've tried which requires two disks. Funny, because the file size was under 4.7G. I'm using ATI DVD for playback (came with the video card). Tried power DVD, but the software didn't see the disk unless I don't know how to add it to the playlist. You have to realize that although I'm not a total novice, I have a long way to go before I graduate to the level you guys are on. Don't give up on me, and with your help, I'll have a working machine in the near future.

Thanks Again
toolman18 
Senior Member

1 Jul 2003 9:58 PM
freddyy,
You don't have to add the movie to the play list,you just insert movie and open PowerDVD and it should play
Rag-Tag 12
freddyy 
Newbie

1 Jul 2003 10:32 PM
Toolman:

It hasn't been workong that way. I can slap the DVD in the drive (the Sony is the only one I have) and it automatically opens ATI DVD. It gathers some data, opens the program, and plays two or three seconds and stops. I can then close out ATI, open Power DVD, click on play, and it opens a window, I go to the Sony, and it gives me the option of opening the video, or the audio... you know the files that are on the DVD. I haven't tried making Power DVD the default. Maybe that's something I should do. ATI should work, It always did before installing SP 4. I will get this thing to work. It may take a while, but it will work. I do have DMA enabled. That's the right thing to do, right?

Thanks Again
Conrad 
Inactive

2 Jul 2003 9:27 AM
freddyy,
Did you uninstall and reinstall PowerDVD?
The ATI drivers and the player should also be uninstalled and reinstalled. Make sure you go out to ATI's web site and download the latest drivers. They usually update those once a month it seems.
I'm not that familiar with 2k pro, but somewhere there's a place to change default's for the players you have. In XP I right click on the drive and I can choose defaults, including "do nothing", which I choose, because I don't want Windows to do anything when I insert a DVD.
And yes DMA enabled is a good thing.

Let us know.

Thanks,
Conrad
PIV 2.8G, 1 Gig Rambus Memory, XP SP1
400 Gig HD Storage
Sony DRU 500AX, Liteon LTD166
Get AnyDVD HD and copy any DVD or Blu-ray disc with ease!
It is already over 90 days since last post to this thread, you're not allowed to post here anymore.