·afterdawn.com home  ·Search  

This discussion forum has been closed.
Starting new topics or replying to existing topics is no longer possible.
We welcome all users to use AfterDawn's discussion forums instead.
 

 

Ver 1.5.2 Problems / Issues

Page:  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... Last
Get AnyDVD HD and copy any DVD or Blu-ray disc with ease!
Posted Message
worm2391 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 1:25 AM
need to know if anyone has tried "from the earth to the moon with 1.5.2???
Whisperer 
Senior Member

16 Apr 2003 2:02 AM
dengar
Just curious: if gear has never failed you, why do you bother with nero?

Best regards
Peter_R 
Newbie

16 Apr 2003 6:23 AM
The "Is this a rental?" dialogue...

OK, it's annoying. But it helps the case in that it legitimizes our use of the product. I am creating backup copies of products that I have purchased. And I should have every right to do that.

I fear what is happening in the courts over in the US right now and can only hope that Copyright notices, warning dialogues and so on can only help strengthen the case for the good guys.

Come the revolution, brothers.

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 16 Apr 2003 6:24 AM

d23perry 
Newbie

16 Apr 2003 7:18 AM
On the one day that i decide not to check the forums, 1.5.2 is released. Oh well, i'll run home and get it lunch time. 321 sent me an e-mail that arrived at 3:30 a.m. If only an hour earlier, i'd be up and running.
Jangofett 
Junior Member

16 Apr 2003 8:46 AM
I'm just curious, why 1.52? I actually had no problems with 1.41 (that is, until it stopped recognizing my external burner). Version 1.51 has worked perfectly for me so far. Is it really necessary to get this new version? I mean, were there really a lot of problems with 1.5 - enough to warrant a newer version? I'm just a bit nervous about removing a version that works well and attempting to download a newer version. It seems like the program is a bit tempermental and I don't want to anger it!
dawg70 
Junior Member

16 Apr 2003 9:18 AM
i had the problem like dangar's... ain't convinced tho.... would wait for a few more successful installs...
call me chicken if you want:-)

Dawg
dengar 
Senior Member

16 Apr 2003 9:31 AM
jangofett-This was posted here:
http://dvdxcopy.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/28570

321_Q/A
DVDXCopy Moderator

All,
Before people go crazy asking "Where is 1.5.1?" let me explain it.

We released a V1.5.1 about a weeks ago in Europe, and had since made a few small changes before releasing the next version here in the US.

The changes were small.. Things like a spelling error here or there. There was no functional code changed though.

The version we sent them was V1.5.1, so in order to keep versions straight, (since there were subsequent changes made to the program) the release version was changed to V1.5.2.

Whisperer

I guess there are two reasons why I bother with Nero. First, I get faster burn times with Nero than I do with Gear. Not monumentally faster, but noticeable.

Second, I guess maybe I'm a little anal. It bugs me that something that used to work doesn't anymore. And going back to the anal thing, with Nero not working for me I can't help but feel that I do not have the full functionality of DXC.

So,I guess I should just be happy that I'm fully operational when so many others have problems.

Peter_R

I agree ith you 100%. If you had read any of my posts shortly after 1.5.0. came out you would know that. I want 321 to win the battle and prosper forever. I believe I fully understand the legal intracacies of both sides. If the rental dialogue helps 321 then my response is "Amen Brother!)

But none of that takes away from the fact that I think the rental dialogue annoying and a little insulting.

I may not like it, but if it helps 321 then I will most definately live with it.



They can have my DXC when they pry it from my cold, dead, fingers.
321_Q/A 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 9:37 AM
worm2391,
LOL.. That's a BIG box set! If someone had been able to copy all of the disks of BOB since we released last night, I bet they'd be really tired, and finishing up about now..

I have done all of From Earth to the moon, except for, I think, disk 3. I'd have to check to make sure exactly which disk gave me problems, but one of them still will.
321_Q/A 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 9:54 AM
dawg70,
Chicken..

You asked for it :)

If you're using XP make a restore point and go for it.
galen13 
Newbie

16 Apr 2003 10:35 AM
I have an on going problem. I am not sure if it is my set top or an issue with the software. When i record on a dvd-r disk everything looks great until you get to the last 5 minutes of the movie. The picture then breaks up and of course the audio with it. I am using a dru500a with the latest firmware.
The set tops are an old GE(won't play dvd-r)and a older jvc unit. Both units will play dvd+r.

amd xp 2000
WD 40G HD (2)
win xp with service pk
GF2 ti200
SB Audigy
256Mb pc 2100

Using built in gear drivers
v 1.5.2
stollery 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 10:47 AM
galen13 - this may sound odd, but I've seen similar problems in my shop, which were related to the AMD XP2000 and above chips overheating. In part because AMD processors tend to run hotter than Intel, poor heatsink/fan combos, and ventilation issues. Do you have a utility that will report to you the RPM of your fan(s) as well as processor and on-board temp? Also, inexpensive power supplies can contribute to what you described.
I've noted as much as a 40 degree difference between XP2100 and P4, 2.0 processors, when under load.
321_Q/A 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 10:48 AM
galen13,
Are you using the new 20e firmware?

We have basically the same setup except I have an Intel processor.

I have read that people are having problems with that firmware update. Maybe you can try to go back to 10g.

That's the firmware I use on my DRU500a, and I don't have the problem you described.
Chris 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 10:55 AM
Couldn't get 1.5 to work for the life of me!!!!

Installed 1.5.2 & everything is back to NORMAL!! No compatibility issues or what have you!

THANK YOU 321 & KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!

I am using a Pioneer 105 with Ritek media -R &
-RW on a P4 2GIG 1GIG Ram Windows 2000.

Cheers
Chris

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 16 Apr 2003 10:57 AM

mafixit 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 11:48 AM
I am having no real problems with my current version 1.5 so I think I will leave well enough alone.

Hate to rock the boat...

Karen
mafixit
stollery 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 11:57 AM
mafixit - actually, as many have posted previously, if it works for you, leave well enough alone. The only real diff I see with 1.5.2, over 1.5, is that, for me, Nero now works, along with Gear, which always has.
ireland 
AfterDawn Addict

16 Apr 2003 12:18 PM
Could any one give a report on the difference's
between ver-1.41 and ver-1.51.
is the compaibility much better?
is the gear drivers working better?
external nero,is it working better?
install of 1.51 uninstall and going back to older versons.?
are there any problems useing hp-200,300 burner
with ver-1.51?
stollery 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 12:56 PM

Ireland -
I'm using an HP200i, with firmware upgrade.
Gear has always worked for me.
Nero now works perfectly, which didn't before.
Compability is better than before, but I've only checked +R and +RW.
Going back and forth, between versions, has never been a problem for me as long as I removed the 321 folder after uninstalling and rebooted before installing another version.
VICMAKEY 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 12:57 PM
removed by vic

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 19 Apr 2003 3:23 PM

sjm560 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 12:59 PM
galen13
I am having the same problem, everything seems to work , until I play the movie back, its always near the end of the first disk that it starts to act up. I've searched the forum but did not see anyone else having this problem until your post, if you find an answer please let me know. The two movies that come to mind that I know its happened on are Mary Poppins and the second Harry Potter. I have to check the rest of the movie's I've burned to see how wide spread the problem is in my collection.
I was just thinking maybe I cut the split to close to the end of disk 1, what do you think?
I'm using a Pioneer 103
AMD 1800xp
Asus VIA 400 chip set main board
Antex case and P/S
512 MB 2100 DDR
80 Gig Western Digital
Play back was on a Sony DVD player not sure of the model, I'm writing this while sitting in work. any help from any one would be welcome. thanks Steve
pcron 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 1:00 PM
1.5.0 was horrible. 1.5.2 seems to be working Ok ... So far so good !

This message has been edited since posting. Last time this message was edited on 17 Apr 2003 10:01 AM

stollery 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 1:23 PM
VICMAKEY - Just open up Windows Explorer and look at the left hand column. You'll see a 321 folder there after you open up your Program Files. (Click on the + in front of Program Files to expand it.) You should always delete that folder, after you've uninstalled the version of DXC you're removing. Then reboot and reinstall the newer version of DXC or roll back to an older ver.
321_Q/A 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 1:51 PM
pcron,
Unless you live in Europe, and bought a retail copy there, you would not have had the opportunity to get V1.5.1.

Are you referring to V1.5.0?
aaronrand 
Junior Member

16 Apr 2003 1:55 PM
how can i get 1.4.1 back if i upgrade to 1.5.2 ?

i have avoided 1.5 because it i only went backwords going to 1.4 and had to wait till 1.4.1 fixed my troubles. currently it works flawlessly, but would like to hopefully get 2 settop players compatable, so would like to see if new version gets that done.

Gateway Pentium-4 2.0 Ghz
win xp home edition, SP1
60gb HDD
512 DDR ram
Sony DRU500AX burner, Gateway DVD Rom
colest 
Junior Member

16 Apr 2003 2:02 PM
SJM
I DON`T KNOW IF THIS WILL HELP, BUT ANY PROBLEMS I HAVE HAD AFTER A BURN, USALLY TURNS OUT TO BE THE MEDIA. HAVE YOU RECENTLY BOUGHT SOME DIFFERANT KIND? SOMETIMES A BARGAIN, ISNT`T!
321_Q/A 
Inactive

16 Apr 2003 2:06 PM
aaronrand,
V1.4.1 is still up on our FTP server, so you can always download that version again if you don't have the installer somewhere still on your system.

Also, if you use WinXP, make a Restore Point before removing V1.4.1 and updating to V1.5.2. That way, you can always go straight back to the setup that you have now if you do have problems.
Get AnyDVD HD and copy any DVD or Blu-ray disc with ease!
It is already over 90 days since last post to this thread, you're not allowed to post here anymore.
Page:  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... Last